2018 Commonwealth Games

2018 Commonwealth Games

Commonwealth games is biggest sports event after the great Olympics games. The Commonwealth Games is a sports event involving athletes from Commonwealth of Nations.

The Commonwealth of nations is referred to countries that were part of the British Empire but have since declared independence.

A sporting competition bringing together the members of the British Empire was first proposed by Reverend Astley Cooper in 1891, when he wrote an article in The Times newspaper suggesting a “Pan-Britannic-Pan-Anglican Contest and Festival every four years as a means of increasing the goodwill and good understanding of the British Empire”.

The games are controlled by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF), which also controls the sporting programme and selects the host cities. The game’s movement consists of international sports federations (IFs), Commonwealth Games Associations (CGAs), and organizing committees for each specific Commonwealth Games.


There are several rituals and symbols, such as the Commonwealth Games flag and Queen’s Baton. Each game edition has the opening and closing ceremonies like Olympics. Over 5,000 athletes compete at the Commonwealth Games in more than 15 different sports and more than 250 events.

Like Olympics, First, Second And third in each event receive a medal of commonwealth game that is  Gold, Silver, And Bronze respectively.

There are several sports that are never included in Olympics but part of Commonwealth games like Lawn Bowls, Netball, Squash, Tenpin Bowling.

The First game

*The first Commonwealth Games, known as the British Empire Games at the time, were held in Canada in 1930 in Hamilton, Ontario Canada

*The first Games included 400 athletes from 11 countries. To help cover the traveling costs for the visiting nations, the City of Hamilton provided $30,000.

2018 Commonwealth games

Commonwealth games 2018

*This Edition is hosted by Gold Cost Australia. 4 April – 15 April 2018.

*18 Sports with 275 Events and 70 Countries

*The slogan for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games is ‘Share the Dream’ and the mascot is a blue, surfing koala named Borobi.


Hosted City Year

1930 Canada  Hamilton, Canada
1934  England London, England
1938  Australia Sydney, Australia
1942  Canada Montreal, Canada
1946   WalesCardiff, Wales
1950  New Zealand Auckland, New Zealand
 1954  Canada Vancouver, Canada
 1958 Wales Cardiff, Wales
1962 Australia Perth, Australia
 1966  Jamaica Kingston, Jamaica
1970 Scotland Edinburgh, Scotland
1974 New Zealand Christchurch, New Zealand
1978 Canada Edmonton, Canada
 1982  Australia Brisbane, Australia
 1986  Scotland Edinburgh, Scotland
 1990  New Zealand Auckland, New Zealand
1994 Canada Victoria, Canada
1998 Malaysia Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2002 England Manchester, England
2006 Australia Melbourne, Australia
2010 India Delhi, India
2014 Scotland Glasgow, Scotland
2018 Australia Gold Coast, Australia
2022 England Birmingham, England

All-time Medal Tally

1.Australia Gold:852 Silver:716 Bronze: 650 Total: 2218

2.England Gold: 669 Silver: 670 Bronze: 669  Total: 2008

3.Canada  Gold: 469 Silver: 476 Bronze: 528 Total: 1473

4.India Gold: 155 Silver: 155 Bronze: 128 Total: 438

5.New Zealand  Gold: 144 Silver: 203 Bronze: 262 Total: 609


Commonwealth Games Facts

  • The highest number of nations to compete at a Games was 72 at the 2002 Manchester Commonwealth Games. Although, the largest number of athletes (4,929) were present at the 2014 Glasgow Games.
  • Often referred to as the ‘Friendly Games’, only single competition sports were on the program until the 1998 Games which included team sports for the first time. Nations then competed in cricket, hockey, netball and rugby 7s.
  • Not all athletes are under the age of 30! Lawn bowler Dorothy Roche, was 61 when she won gold at the 1990 Games in Auckland, making her Australia’s oldest Commonwealth Games gold medal winner ever.
  • Australia’s youngest gold medal winner was swimmer Jenny Turrell, who was just 13 when she competed at the 1974 Games in Christchurch.
  • Amazingly, while 71 countries are eligible to compete in the Commonwealth Games, only six have attended every game since 1930. These are Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland, and Wales.


Lets Hope Indian Squad Do their best and make INDIA’S flag fly high.



Hi, I am a Digital Marketing Consultant, Web Developer & Social Media Strategist.

3 thoughts on “2018 Commonwealth Games

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *